

PRESS RELEASE

The Suncoast Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Announces 2023 Silver Circle Honorees from Puerto Rico



Mayra Acevedo



Deborah Martorell



Ada Monzón

PRESS RELEASE

Pembroke Pines, FL (August 2023) - The Suncoast Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is pleased to announce the 2023 Silver Circle honorees from Puerto Rico. The annual recognition is given to individuals who have worked with distinction in the television industry within the Suncoast Region, which includes the State of Florida, the State of Louisiana, the Mobile, Alabama-Pensacola, Florida television markets, as well as Puerto Rico. This year's honorees will be honored in Puerto Rico at an in-person ceremony which will take place on Saturday, September 23, 2023 at Salón de Banquetes, Los Chavales, Ave. F.D. Roosevelt 255, Hato Rey, PR 00918 More details on our website <u>suncoastchapter.org</u>.

2023 Silver Circle Honorees – Puerto Rico

Mayra Acevedo – Mayra Acevedo is an award-winning Broadcast and Digital Journalist, recognized by local and Hispanic journalism organizations for excellence and outstanding craftsmanship. These include several Suncoast Emmy® Awards and nominations, Overseas Press Club Awards, Excellence Awards, National Association of Hispanic Journalists Honorary Mentions, multiple awards from the Puerto Rico Association of Journalists, the Jose de Diego Spanish Language Award from the Institute of Culture, Life Achievement Awards, Premios Paoli, and INTRE Awards, as well as recognitions from other prestigious institutions. She hosts a weekly radio program at WSKN Borinquen Radio and a program for the Latin-American digital health magazine "Revista de Medicina y Salud Pública" all while pursuing independent projects as MC, voiceover artist, video content creator, and producer. Mayra also hosts content for the U.S Hispanic market with Atlantino Productions in N.Y and L.A. which includes bilingual documentaries and a streaming series on Latino icons like Roberto Clemente, José Feliciano, Lucía Méndez, and Gilberto Santa Rosa, among others.

Deborah Martorell – Deborah Martorell is the Chief Meteorologist for Teleonce (Television), NotiUno (Radio) and El Nuevo Día (Newspaper); and is one of the most influential social media personalities in Puerto Rico. She studied communications and journalism at the University of Puerto Rico, and broadcast meteorology and geosciences at Mississippi State University. A journalist and AMS Television Seal Holder with over 30 years of experience, a career that began as an assistant television producer, continuing as a radio journalist, television reporter and news anchor, and spending most of her career as Broadcast Meteorologist. Founder of Climate Change Advocacy NGO "Proyecto Acción Climática", NOAA Weather Ready Nation Ambassador and NASA JPL Solar System Ambassador, with multiple awards from the Overseas Press Club and the Puerto Rico Journalists Association; and 6-time Suncoast Emmy[®] Award recipient, among them a win in 2019 as Weather News Anchor. In 2020, she was recognized by the American Meteorological Society with the Award for Excellence in Science Reporting by a Broadcast Meteorologist.

Ada Monzón – Ada Monzón is the first female meteorologist in Puerto Rico. She is Chief Meteorologist for WAPA-TV and Univision Radio (WKAQ 580 AM), covering all of Puerto Rico. Ada is the first Puerto Rican female American Meteorological Society (AMS) Fellow and Certified Broadcast Meteorologist in Latin America. As a committed science educator, she is also the Founder and President of the Board of Directors of EcoExploratorio: Science Museum of Puerto Rico, a 501c3 non-profit community-based organization that inspires to protect our natural world, increase resilience and educate about the universe through STEM education. Ada recently received a Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) from the University of Puerto Rico, which is the highest distinction awarded to individuals who have made significant contributions to their field and to society. Among her awards are: four Suncoast Emmy® Awards, four American Meteorological Society Awards: Broadcast Meteorology Award, Joanne Simpson Award, Charles Anderson Award, and Excellence in Science Reporting by a Broadcast Meteorologist Award. She is widely recognized for her successful social media networks with over 2 million combined followers.