

PRESS RELEASE

The Suncoast Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Announces 2024 Silver Circle Honorees



Kellie Burns



Alexa Elliott



Maria Kapetanakis



Homan Machuca



Belkys Nerey



Trina Robinson



Mikel Schaefer



Gene Yagle



Celimar Adames Casalduc



José E. Esteves **Montesinos**



Rebeca Torres

PRESS RELEASE

Pembroke Pines, FL (March 2024) - The Suncoast Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is pleased to announce the 2024 Silver Circle honorees. The annual recognition is given to individuals who have worked with distinction in the television industry within the Suncoast Region, which includes the State of Florida, the State of Louisiana, the Mobile, Alabama-Pensacola, Florida television markets, as well as Puerto Rico. More details to come <u>suncoastchapter.org</u>.

Silver Circle 2024 Honorees

Kellie Burns, Anchor, WBBH-NBC2 News, Ft. Myers-Naples, Florida, has been keeping viewers informed for more than 30 years. Her journey of journalistic excellence began in 1994 at WBBH, climbing the ranks from reporter, to weekend anchor, to become one of the primary news anchors within two years.

Alexa Elliott, Creator & Series Producer, *Changing Seas*, South Florida PBS, Miami-Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, began her broadcasting career in 1996, at public radio station WMKY, in Morehead, Kentucky. Upon moving to Florida in 2000, she spent time working at public media stations WUFT and WGCU Public Media before joining the staff of South Florida PBS in 2006.

Maria Kapetanakis, Assistant News Director, WSCV Telemundo 51, Miami-Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, is an eight-time Emmy[®] award-winning journalist and Assistant News Director for WSCV Telemundo 51. She joined Telemundo 51 in 1991 and has more than thirty years of television news experience. Maria started her journalism career in radio. She was a news anchor at WINZ and also worked at the Miami Herald before joining WSCV Telemundo.

Homan Machuca, Retired Senior Reporter and Producer, Telemundo 31 NBC, Orlando-Daytona Beach, Florida, began his career in broadcasting at Nuevo Continente of Bogota. He also worked at various networks in Colombia. Homan relocated to the United States in 1984, where he was employed with different networks including radio and television. Homan was the first Latino to transmit via satellite for the NASA space shuttle launches with United Latin Television to stations in Latin America and Europe. Homan retired from Telemundo 31 NBC, as a Senior Reporter and producer of *Enfoque*.

Belkys Nerey, Anchor, WSVN-7, Miami-Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, an eight-time Emmy[®] award-winning journalist, has been a TV junkie her whole life. It's no wonder she grew up to be a main anchor, and host of her own cooking show, at one of the country's most dynamic television stations, WSVN-7, where she's been since 1994. Born in Havana and raised in Long Island and Hialeah, she's an FIU graduate, who started her television career as a reporter for South Florida cable station Dynamic Cablevision.

Trina Robinson, Anchor, NBC 6 News, Miami-Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, is a two-time Emmy[®] award-winning journalist who currently anchors the NBC 6 News at 7pm and co-anchors the NBC 6 News at 5pm & 5:30pm. She joined NBC 6 in September of 1999 and has become one of the station's most visible and versatile journalists, proving her talents to South Florida viewers as an experienced anchor, reporter, meteorologist and breaking news specialist.

PRESS RELEASE

Mikel Schaefer, Vice President and General Manager, WVUE-TV, New Orleans, Louisiana, is a 40-year New Orleans television veteran earning multiple Suncoast Emmy[®] Awards including Station, News and Overall Excellence. He started his broadcast career in May 1984 as an overnight assistant at WWL-TV, before spending 11 years as a sports producer. In 2008, Mikel left WWL to become the WVUE News Director. Schaefer's 37-year news career ended in 2021 after becoming WVUE – Vice President and General Manager.

Gene Yagle, Retired Chief Photojournalist, WTSP-TV, Tampa-St. Petersburg, Florida, has viewed life through a lens since he first picked up a camera in high school in Miami. He spent 37 years at WTSP/CBS as a photojournalist and chief photojournalist. During his career he has received over 30 Suncoast Regional Emmy Awards[®], and numerous Associated Press, Society of Professional Journalists, and Edward R. Murrow awards.

Celimar Adames Casalduc, Senior News Anchor, TeleOnce, Puerto Rico, is a reporter with over 30 years of experience on television media in Puerto Rico. In 2001 she became the female news anchor for *"Noticentro"* on Channel 4, a position she held for 18 years. Celimar is currently the news anchor for three editions at "Las Noticias de TeleOnce", a news project that embraces investigative, social and community journalism.

José E. Esteves Montesinos, News Senior Reporter, Telemundo Puerto Rico, has an extensive 44-year career as a journalist, having worked at all television stations in Puerto Rico. For 32 years he has worked as one of the most prominent reporters at Telenoticias, Telemundo of Puerto Rico.

Rebeca Torres, Senior Television Executive, Independent, Puerto Rico, has a career exceeding 34 years. Though Rebeca started out in the advertising industry, she soon transitioned into broadcast news, which seems to be what runs through her veins. Rebeca has worked and owned advertising and content creation agencies. she worked as a production and news director, and served as VP of operations and production for public stations in Puerto Rico - WIPR: 2 television stations and 2 radio stations.

Each year, the Suncoast Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences accepts nominations for the prestigious Silver Circle and nominations are considered by the Suncoast Chapter's Board of Governors as they evaluate the nominee's contributions and then vote for inductees by secret ballot.

About the Suncoast Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

The Suncoast Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is a nonprofit Florida corporation dedicated to excellence in television. We offer annual EMMY® Awards called The Suncoast Regional EMMY® Awards to television markets in the entire State of Florida, Alexandria, Baton Rouge, Lafayette, Lake Charles and New Orleans, Louisiana, Mobile, Alabama, Thomasville, Georgia and Puerto Rico. The Chapter is composed of professional people who work in television or students who are studying television in colleges or universities and aspire to become professionals. If you would like to become a member, please visit our <u>Membership</u> page. If you are interested in the Suncoast Regional EMMY® Awards, please visit our <u>Awards</u> page.