

PRESS RELEASE

The Suncoast Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Announces 2024 Suncoast Student Scholarship Recipients

Pembroke Pines, FL (April 2024) - The NATAS Suncoast Chapter announced it will award a total of \$56,500 to thirteen Suncoast Region students for the 2024 Student Scholarship Awards. The scholarship application period for the 2024-2025 school year took place from February 1 to March 1, 2024.

Each year, the Suncoast Chapter offers scholarships to graduating high school seniors and to college and university students who reside within the Suncoast Region, which includes the State of Florida, the State of Louisiana, the Mobile-Pensacola Market area, and Puerto Rico. In order to be eligible, students must plan to attend or currently attend a four-year college or university in the Suncoast Region and must have a declared major in Communications/Broadcasting with a concentration in television.

"Every year, the NATAS Suncoast Chapter strives to contribute to the education of innovative, high-achieving deserving students," said Claudia Keppinger, Suncoast Scholarship Awards Chair. "It is a privilege and an honor to be part of such an important process that will have an impact on the lives of the students as well as the future of the industry."

This year, the Suncoast Chapter awarded Billie Brightman with a \$10,000 Bob Behrens Scholarship, a special award given to a student who embodies enterprising journalism and innovation in the industry. Brightman's accomplishments and extensive experience early in her career, as well as her reliability and humble nature, are exemplary and admired by her peers and mentors. Her professors describe her as intelligent and inquisitive and her impressive work ethic inside and outside the classroom positions her among a select few.

"Part of the mission of our Suncoast Chapter is to provide resources and support for the next generation of professionals in our industry," said Barbara Alfonso, NATAS Suncoast Chapter President. "Our Chapter is so pleased to honor the legacy and carry on the mission of former Suncoast Chapter Executive Director, Bob Behrens, who was dedicated to fostering excellence in journalism through philanthropic efforts."

continued on next page

PRESS RELEASE



Billie Brightman 2024 Bob Behrens Scholarship University of Miami



Pierre Ambroise University of Miami



Chloe BarnettFlorida International University



Matthew Barturen Florida State University



Sebastian Broche Christopher Columbus High School



Harvey Adrián Cabassa University of Puerto Rico at Arecibo



Nicholas Cruz Florida Atlantic University

continued on next page

PRESS RELEASE



Elena FallowOur Lady of Lourdes Academy



Austin Lamanna Seminole Ridge High School



Alessia Lavayen Santa Fe College



Melanie Lowe University of Miami



Mia MutFlorida International University



Isabelle Vieira Greiner University of Florida

About the Suncoast Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

The Suncoast Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is a nonprofit Florida corporation dedicated to excellence in television. We offer annual EMMY® Awards called The Suncoast Regional EMMY® Awards to television markets in the entire State of Florida, Alexandria, Baton Rouge, Lafayette, Lake Charles and New Orleans, Louisiana, Mobile, Alabama, Thomasville, Georgia and Puerto Rico. The Chapter is composed of professional people who work in television or students who are studying television in colleges or universities and aspire to become professionals. If you qualify and would like to become a member, please visit our Membership page. If you are interested in the Suncoast Regional EMMY® Awards, please visit our Awards page. For more information, visit our website at suncoastchapter.org.