The 2018 National Student Production Awards
Los Angeles, CA – Thursday, October 18th, 2018 – Winners of the 3rd Annual competition of The National Student Production Awards were announced at Emerson College in Los Angeles,CA, hosted by television personality, Tom Bergeron. The Foundation of The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) presents this competition annually which includes 23 programming and craft categories honoring student productions from across the country. The event was live streamed on the Academy’s social media channels and website.

“The National Academy takes great pride in honoring the craft, creativity and passion of these amazing students,” said, Terry O’Reilly, Chairman, NATAS. “The future of our industry is being passed to the next generation and it appears to be in very good hands as witnessed by the outstanding work displayed today.” Over 200 students were culled from the 19 regional chapters of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences and selected by industry professionals and university professors to advance to the national competition.” The growth and depth of talent of this year’s entries were truly remarkable,” said NATAS Education Chair, Danielle Mannion. “It is the Foundation’s pleasure to highlight these aspiring television journalists and to thank the many judges who participated in reviewing these outstanding productions.”

The event was hosted by television personality, Tom Bergeron (Dancing With The Stars). Nominees were announced with pre-recorded messages from industry elite such as Judge Judy Sheindlin (Judge Judy), Mario Lopez (EXTRA), Kelli Pickler and Ben Aaron (Pickler & Ben), Ari Melber (The Beat – MSNBC), Carolyn Hennessy, (General Hospital, The Bay, Jessie, Once Upon a Time) and Adrienne Houghton, Loni Love, Jeannie Mai, and Tamera Mowry-Housley (The REAL).

“The recognition of the next generation of ambitious and talented television journalists is one of the most important things the Academy does,” said, Adam Sharp, Interim-President & CEO,NATAS. “We will entrust the future in their hands today as they make their way to a very bright tomorrow!”

Congratulations to our Suncoast Chapter winners – School District of Lee County and Christopher Columbus High School/CCNN Live. Read more.

2018 Suncoast Student Production Awards
The Suncoast Chapter has expanded its Call for Entries to the entire Suncoast Region that includes the State of Florida, the State of Louisiana, the Mobile-Pensacola market area and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.  

AWARDS: For winning entries, the Award (an engraved crystal pillar) is presented to the sponsoring college/university, high school or producing organization. The students involved in the production of the winning entries and honorable mentions receive certificates. Following the distribution of the awards, duplicate awards (crystal pillars) with individual student names will be available at a cost of $145.

The complete list of winners and honorable mentions in this year’s Suncoast Student Production Awards is now available! 

It is important to note that College/University or Technical/Vocational school entries are judged in a separate contest from High School entries. The scores produced by these two panels are not combined; instead the scores are interpreted separately for final “cut-off” evaluation.

2018 Suncoast Chapter Scholarships
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Suncoast Chapter offers scholarships to graduating high school seniors and to college/university students who reside within the SUNCOAST REGION that includes the State of Florida, the State of Louisiana, the Mobile–Pensacola Market area and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. Students MUST plan to attend or currently attend a four-year college/university with a declared major in Communications/Broadcasting with a concentration in television in the SUNCOAST REGION.
Congratulations to the 2018 Suncoast Student Scholarship recipients.  Read more.